Archive for January 23rd, 2012

January 23, 2012

Five, Forty, One, Five Thousand

What a week….we have had so much going on, my sleep deprivation is at an all-time high.

FIVE

This is the number of years we celebrated being married. Our anniversary was Thursday, but we celebrated on Wednesday because my husband had plans. Here’s how the conversation went down:

E: “It is our anniversary next week.”
Me: “I completely forgot.”
E: “Want to go out Thursday night? That’s the 19th (our anniversary).”
Me: “Yes, we should definitely do that.”
E: “Oh no, I forgot I have poker that night.”
Me: “We can just go out a different night then.”
E: “Cool.”

Romance at it’s finest! At least he gets to say he remembered.

FORTY

The number of times I dropped the F-bomb when some 250 lb. a$$ body slammed me at my RECREATIONAL co-ed soccer game and dislocated my shoulder. Thanks for making it impossible for me to care for my kids (carrying two 20 lb. babies is super easy with one arm) or train for my half marathon to raise money for the sickest and poorest people in the world. I greatly appreciate it a$$hole! Kind Hearts to my husband’s orthopedic partner and my teammate, Ken, for putting my shoulder back in place at 10:00pm on Friday night. It hurt so bad, I didn’t even go out for beers with my team after which is the only reason I am there to begin with!

ONE

We made it. The twins turned one on Saturday. I consider surviving this past year to be my greatest life accomplishment and even though it was difficult in a way that isn’t even worth trying to explain, these babies have brought a joy and love to our life that we didn’t know was possible. Mignons (twins nickname), we love you. You are the funniest babies on the planet and the way you live life should be a lesson to us all. Thank you for refusing to do “So Biiiiggg!” (put your baby arms up in the air) and forcing me to think of something better to teach you…..like “Put ‘Yo Hands Up!” Don’t believe me?

Put Yo Hands up!

FIVE THOUSAND

This is the number of times the blog has been viewed in a little over a month’s time. If everyone whose read this found a way to come up with $100 between now and Christmas next year, you would PERMANENTLY (only using the interest from the fund) be allowing people to have working legs and feet. Most of these people are children. Most of them never go to school because they carry water buckets for 3 to 4 hours A DAY just to survive. Can’t we at least give these people some decent legs to do it with?

Donate here and don’t forget to forward your receipt to deassifyoself@yahoo.com or I won’t know you donated!
Haiti:  Together We Move

Kind Hearts this week go to Hinterland Brewery in Green Bay, WI. They have agreed to host a benefit for Haiti to help Terry and Jeannie raise the money they need. I love, love, love everything about Hinterland……….delicious beer, unique food, eclectic atmosphere.

There will be fun, there will be raffle prizes, there will be LIVE music! Thank you (Kind Hearts!) to Tom Smith (Sammi/Nanny’s daddy) and his band Crunchtime for donating their time to help Terry and Jeannie!

Save the Date (Invitations to follow): Saturday, April 21st

Visit Hinterland in Green Bay or Milwaukee, WI and the Whistling Swan in Door County, WI. You won’t be disappointed:

Hinterland

Whistling Swan

Check out Tom Smith and Crunchtime:

Crunchtime

A few photos from the past year:

You should see my stomach now!

They secretly hate each other now

Seriously?

Never spent a minute in the NICU. Truly a 4 lb. miracle.

What a year

Give your sisters a ride.....now!

3 to 4 hours a day, just to have water.

First time out of the house in a year without help

If you liked this blog, give me 5 (bucks)! Don’t forget to forward your receipt to deassifyoself@yahoo.com or I won’t know you donated!

Haiti:  Together We Move

If you don’t know what I am talking about reference:
Subscribe and Give Me 5! (to your right)

A$$es for Poor, Sick, Children (and Adults)