Perfectly Misfit Toms!

Before I get into explaining how you can raise money for poor, sick, children (and adults) in Haiti by buying something awesome, I would like to announce a few simple changes to the blog.

I am slowly educating myself on how to use technology again.  Once a computer science major at a Big Ten University, I can no longer figure out how to add a hyperlink into a webpage.  Thanks kids for keeping me up so much at night!  I am now even blonder than I was in my 20s.

I have also learned how to add some menu buttons above to make it easier for newbies to get caught up on what is going on here.  It only took me 40 minutes and 10 yellings at the kids (“STOP INTERUPTING MY TRAIN OF THOUGHT”) to make it happen.  But I did it.

In addition to these technological advances in my A$$es blog, every blog post will now contain one small piece of information about Haiti, presented in my own special way.  Similar to the kind heart awards, this section will have a name:  “Haiti for Dummies: M.E.”

If I am being completely honest, I only started raising money for Haiti because T and J are my friends and I care about my friends a lot.  For some reason, this has lead people to believe that I know what I am talking about in Haiti (a place I have never been).  I can assure you, it does not.  I just know that most kids don’t go to school because they are carrying water all day, orphans sleep on cardboard, and a lot of their legs look like bows from a bow and arrow.  Since Haiti is our neighbor and one of the 10 commandments is to love your neighbor, I signed myself up to help.  And I think you should join us!

Without further adieu, the first addition of “Haiti for Dummies:  M.E.”

I am stealing this from the oh-so good looking Dr. Scott Nelson (he’s married ladies):

Holla!

“Haitians have a spiritual depth rarely found in those who live without hardship.  Their faith, hope, and love are well beyond what we typically see in our own society.  Mothers care for their children in communal hospital rooms.  When one mother goes to the market, another watches her child.  Patients look out for one another and family members are always at bedside.  Relatives live next door to each other, the young care for the old and everyone pitches in.  Even though they have little, they are generous and giving to those around them.”

Haitians sound nice!  And guess what?  They have jack shit, but they have less depression and suicide than we do in our own country.  When psychologists go to help Haitians, they return, realizing Americans have more psychological problems.

Love thy neighbor = less depression and suicide = happiness

Kind Hearts this week to Leah K.!  Leah is the 16-year old sister of one of our fabulous Lawrence University babysitters.  Leah is a talented artist who started coloring on Toms shoes with high-end waterproof markers.  I saw a picture and wanted a pair ASAP!  And I want you to have them too!

As cute as Cameron D and Dr. Nelson!

Friends!  For every pair of these Toms you purchase through the Perfectly Misfit Etsy Site, this little cutie pie is going to donate 10 percent of sales.  In the notes section, type Haiti or Kind Hearts or whatever you think will let little Leah know you found her through the blog.  

Here’s the link (see if you can guess which pair is mine):

Perfectly Misfit Custom Tom’s

Please remember that Leah is 16, a high school student, and a soccer player.  She custom designs these for each individual person, so be patient with her.  Handmade items take time, but they are made with love!

If your name is Lauren, you have twin 3-year-old boys, and you just had a baby; please do not take advantage of the following Haiti promotion.

AND

If you liked this blog, give me 5 (bucks)! Don’t forget to forward your receipt to deassifyoself@yahoo.com or I won’t know you donated!

Haiti:  Together We Move

If you don’t know what I am talking about reference:
Subscribe and Give Me 5! (to your right)

A$$es for Poor, Sick, Children (and Adults) in Haiti

Leave a comment