Archive for January 2nd, 2012

January 2, 2012

Operation: Donate Dolls

If you remember correctly, part of this “money-raising for Haiti extravaganza” is to help my kids get a grip on reality and start appreciating what they have. So instead of cleaning out the doll bin by myself and donating the dolls behind their backs, I decided to incorporate the two todllers in the process this year.

“Girls, I am going to have you go through the following stack of dolls. You can keep half of them and you have to donate the other half to little girls who have never had a doll before.”

Did I say they had 20 dolls? I meant 200. Don't miss CiCi's pout.

Cue hysteria. The middle child was FRANTIC. It was is if losing half these dolls she never even plays with was the equivalent of losing your home. Or an arm. Or something way worse. The oldest tried counseling her….”CiCi, it is called having a kind heart.” She didn’t really care. And there was no reasoning with her.

Our oldest on the other hand, was eager to help. As she sorted through the dolls, she said reassuring things like, “Does this doll look cheap? Then we should donate it.”

Needless to say, it was an intense 60 minutes, but at the end of it they were able to donate all these dolls with a smile.

I took the Cabbage Patch back because it was my childhood doll

This week the kind heart award goes to my friend Sarah from The Little Gym. Sarah and I share the bond of a “spirited child.” If you don’t know what that means, just hope you don’t get one. These children consume 90 percent of your parenting energy and can embarrass you in public in a way you never even imagined. On their worst days, you will find yourself on the phone (a grown adult) crying to your own mommy to come and save you before you run away to the Bahamas and become a bartender. Even though we barely know each other, our spirited-child bond is so strong, Sarah was kind enough to agree to organize a rummage sale of children’s books, toys, and clothes and donate the proceeds to A$$es for poor, sick, children (and adults). The rummage sale will take place in Appleton (working out the deets) and will hopefully have beer (if we get our way). If you have anything you would like to donate or would like to help organize, please email me at deassifyoself@yahoo.com

If you liked this blog, give me 5 (bucks)! Don’t forget to forward your receipt to deassifyoself@yahoo.com or I won’t know you donated!

Haiti:  Together We Move

If you don’t know what I am talking about reference:

Subscribe and Give Me 5! (to your right)

A$$es for Poor, Sick, Children (and Adults)