OMG!

OMG!

I finished (no, I did not walk)!  And so did everyone else participating in the world’s most difficult half marathon.  It also happens to be the world’s most beautiful, so the race directors can pull that shit off without batting an eyelash.  People like myself who say they will never, ever do it again (2010) come back for more (in 2012).  With their friends.  If you asked me right this second if I was doing this next year, I would tell you to go to hell.  But SAVE.THE.DATE. May 4th, 2013.

OMG!

My friend Katie convinced her brother to run the half 2 weeks before.  Her training plan?  Run 6 miles the night BEFORE  and eat 5 Power Bars in the morning (she’s for hire if you need a PT).  Truth be told, 7 miles in, I laughed to myself when I thought of him trying to finish.  Even his own mother didn’t show her face as a fan, ashamed of seeing him wheeled off the course in a golf cart.  But he did it.  And finished only 10 minutes after me.  Who trained for 4 months.  Kind Hearts Mikey!  Can you walk yet?

OMG!

My friend Chris has 4 kids (boys), finished in 2nd place for her age group, AND 16th overall for women.  Did I mention she looks like this and didn’t really train either?

Chris is on the right, but I would also happily be the lady on the left.

If you have 4 kids (or any kids), don’t compare yourself to Chris.  You won’t feel so good.

OMG!

Chris’ son ran in a banana costume.  And whooped all of our a$$es by placing 1st amongst our mutt group and 3rd in his division at 1:40:53.  He didn’t train either.

Run Banana Run!

Thanks for the press Drew!  He’s photo number 10.  Don’t miss the caption, here.

OMG!

My friend Deanna had a high school friend truck her a$$ up from Chicago just to cheer for her running her first 5K.  She made Deanna signs.  AND her sign got mentioned in this blog…….see if you can figure out which sign is with team a$$es, here.

OMG!

My husband didn’t make me any signs.  And he told me he wasn’t going to wait for me to finish the half (because it was a 2 hour wait and I already finished it 2 years prior).  But he pulled through and surprised me.  I even heard him say, “I am really proud of you.”  My stud muffin also took first in his age bracket for the 5K.  We didn’t find out till much later and celebrated with Wisconsin Lunch Boxes all around.  If you don’t know what a Wisconsin Lunch Box is they serve it in bars and if you run the half next year we will “treat” you to one!

Friends!  That was fun!  We raised $5,000 and had an absolute blast dancing and bowling at the Sister Bay Bowl.  Join us next year, as we have “officially” made this an annual event by agreeing to do the 5K if we are too afraid to do the half.  In the mean time, if you live within a 90 mile radius from me, I need your shit.  Toys, books, baby clothes, maternity clothes.  Basically anything related to a child that you don’t want.  Drop it off at the fabulous Bellybeans on College and get 20 percent off your purchase!  Help me attempt to have a rummage…I am terrified.

Kind, kind, kind hearts to all runners, donors, supporters of the Door County Half Marathon/5K Haiti fundraiser.  There are too many of y’all to mention you without boring readers, but THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you liked this post, give me 5 (bucks)! Don’t forget to forward your receipt to deassifyoself@yahoo.com or I won’t know you donated!

Haiti:  Together We Move

If you don’t know what I am talking about reference:

Subscribe and Give Me 5! (to your right)

A$$es for Poor, Sick, Children (and Adults) in Haiti

Leave a comment